Congratulations to Murgon Golf Club

Director Golf - Tuesday, March 26, 2019

On Saturday, RACV Royal Pines Resort played host to the QLD Golf Industry Awards Night recognising the outstanding achievements of individuals, golf clubs and companies over the past 12 months.

With more than 400 guests and icons of the game including Charlie Earp, Wayne Grady, Paul King and Peter Senior in attendance, the night recognises the achievements of those from the PGA (QLD/NT), Golf Management Australia – Queensland Division, Golf Australia as well as the Golf Course Superintendents Association of Queensland.

A total of 31 awards were presented throughout the evening, with the Keperra Country Golf Club taking out the coveted GMAQ Golf Club of the Year Award.

Golf Australia presented several awards to our District, including Shae Wools-Cobb (Maroochy River) for Male Amateur Golfer of the Year, Cassie Porter (Peregian) for Junior Female Amateur Golfer of the Year, and Murgon Golf Club for QLD Golf Club of the Year (Under 400 members).

Murgon Golf Club - 2018 QLD Golf Club of the Year (under 400 members)

Murgon Golf Club is a volunteer operated club situated in the South Burnett region, three hours north of Brisbane. Financially, the Club has transformed from being on the verge of closure a few years ago, to now being in a strong financial position. By running both women’s and junior programs to encourage the growth of golf in the local community, Murgon GC increased its membership in the last year by 16%. Further, the club is proud to have 14 adult indigenous members amongst its ranks.

The golf course has a well-deserved reputation as an excellent country course with fully irrigated fairways and greens constructed to USGA standard. Since 2007, Golf Australia Queensland Office has chosen Murgon as the venue for the Queensland Indigenous Championships.

Murgon GC is not alone in having passionate volunteers involved at a club, but it is a standard bearer in its governance and community engagement.

Article - Golf Queensland website. FULL ARTICLE

Masters Tour - Murgon and Kingaroy Results

SCSB District Golf - Thursday, June 04, 2015

Murgon Golf Club - Monday 1st June 2015.


   Name  Club  Score 
 MEN  A Grade Winner  Garry Meredith  Beerwah 35
 A Grade Runner-up  Bob Kersnovske  Bribie Island 35
 B Grade Winner  Terry Jacobsen  Wondai 35
 B Grade Runner-up  Ken Bartlett  Kingaroy 33
 C Grade Winner  Barry Richardson  Blackbutt 33
 WOMEN  Winner  Diane Hetherington  Murgon 37
 Runner-up  Allyson Filian   Pine Rivers 36


Kingaroy Golf Club - Tuesday 2nd June 2015.


 Event  Name  Club  Score 
 MAJOR PRIZES  Men's Winner - Les Young Trophy  Royce Bell  Kingaroy 73 total
 Women's Winner - Joy Cavanough Trophy  Allyson Filian  Pine Rivers 69 total
 MEN  A Grade Winner  Tim Robe  Kingaroy 37
 A Grade Runner-up  Noel Dowdle  Murgon 37
 B Grade Winner  Dean Pilgrim  Kingaroy 36
 B Grade Runner-up  Michael Padgett  Kingaroy 36
 C Grade Winner  John Woodward   Wondai 30
 WOMEN  Runner-up  Jane Franklin  Kingaroy 37
 3rd Place  Robyn Aird   Nanango 34



2014 Master's Tour - MURGON results

SCSB District Golf - Monday, September 29, 2014


SCSB District Golf - Sunday, March 23, 2014

Kodi Louis (formerly a District Representative and from Nambour Golf Club, now Yeppoon ) has outclassed his rivals with a final round 66 to claim the 2014 Queensland Indigenous Championship at Murgon Golf Club

Louis and Craig Dodd (Blackwater) went into the final round locked on 3-under, however after nine holes today, Louis had jumped out to a 2-shot lead.

A costly bogey on the 14th put pay to any final charge by Dodd and despite a nervous 3 putt bogey on the penultimate hole, Louis closed out in style with a birdie 3 on the 72nd.

Making his first visit to Murgon for the Championships, Louis commented on the warm welcome he had received and is already planning his 2015 trip.

When told of the additional prize of a place in the Isuzu Queensland Open Pro Am to be held at Brookwater Golf and Country Club, Louis couldn't hide his excitement. "To have the opportunity to tee it up with the big boys and see how they play is going to be amazing," he said.

Joining Louis in the Pro Am is the Championship runner-up and overall Nett winner Dodd. Playing off a handicap of 5, Dodd was an impressive 18 under for the weekend.

Whilst initially disappointed at letting the Championship slip, Dodd's mood significantly lifted when told he too would be playing the Pro Am.

A field of three contested the Women's Division of the Championship with Kimberley Crawley (Horton Park) claiming the win after impressive rounds of 81, 77 and 72.

Runner up was Ashleigh Hay (Burleigh), with Regina Hussey (Rowes Bay) returning the best nett score.

Prize List:
Champion - Kodi Louis (Yeppoon)
Runner Up - Shane Bird (Wondai)
Third - Rickie Dodd (Windaroo)
Nett Winner - Craig Dodd (Blackwater)
Senior Gross - Brett Angeles (Nudgee)
Senior Nett - Max Conlon (Murgon)

Women's Champion - Kimberley Crawley (Horton Park)

For full results please click here.