2014 South Burnett Junior Open - Results

Monday, February 17, 2014

The 2nd annual South Burnett Open Junior Golf Classic was held at Nanango Golf Club on Saturday 15th Feb 2014 with junior golfers travelling all the way from Gympie, Bundaberg, Hatton Vale, Redcliffe, Toowoomba, Gayndah and Ormeau as well as local players from Kingaroy, Murgon and Nanango. Despite the massive hot temperatures the players returned some fine scores. 

In Boys Div1 Jed Morgan from Hatton Vale managed to hit a 70 gross while in Div2 his brother Lincoln carded a fine 82 gross. In the girls Kirsty Hodgkins carded a fine 71 gross which equalled her own course record. Kirsty comes from Redcliffe and recently was chosen as part of the Junior Girls State Team. At 15 years of age she has one of the brightest futures in ladies golf in Queensland.

Net winners were in Boys Div 1 Mitch Crossley from Kingaroy with a fine 65 while Div 2 was won by James Duncan from Gayndah with an equally fine 65. In the girls Sarah Bellars from Toowoomba with a fine 70.

A special 9 hole event was also conducted for the littlies with Caiden Priaulx from Kingaroy shooting a fine 25 net with Terren Kannan from Brisbane shooting a fine 29 net.

This event was made very possible due to the massive sponsorships from : Bendigo Bank, Vics Paving, Baileys Bobcat and Earthmoving, South Burnett Golf Equipment, Nanango Fitzroy Motel, Nanango Gas Supplies, Bob Jane T-Mart Kingaroy, Kingaroy Freight Express, Augusta Golf Carts and ALM.  

This event is held as part of the Greg Norman Junior Golf Foundation Circuit. Juniors play in as many as 30 of these events every year throughout Queensland as they chase standing points for the end of year masters.

In the South Burnett Amalgamated Golf Zone junior coaching is available with clinics at Kingaroy, Wondai, Murgon, Blackbutt and Nanango. For further information please contact the Junior Co-ordinator Bill Horner on 0428877551

Boys Division 1
Gross Winner Jed Morgan 70
Nett Winner Mitch Crossley 65
Nett 2nd Cameron McFarlane 66
Nett 3rd Hayden Yesburg 68
Nett 4th Steven Cox 69
Nett 5th Cristian Butterworth 70
Boys Division 2
Gross Winner Lincoln Morgan 82
Nett Winner James Duncan 65
Nett 2nd Jackson Morgan 73ocb
Nett 3rd Pawan Deo 73
Nett 4th Jack McLeary 76ocb
Nett 5th James Ratnavale 76
Gross Winner Kirsty Hodgkins 71
Nett Winner Sarah Bellars 70ocb
Nett 2nd Bridgette Reedy 70
Nett 3rd Rhianna Lewis 73
Nine Hole 
Nett Caiden Priaulx 25
Nett 2nd Terran Kannan 29
Nett 3rd Tom McKie 30

Total players 34

Total Prize Value  Advertised at $1750. Actual Prizes given out $2171